Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Rebecca tutors in Franklin, TN

Rebecca M.

Private tutor in Franklin, TN

Education

Vanderbilt University Masters in Biological Sciences Bucknell University BS in Cell biology/Biochemistry

Experience

I have tutored students at the high school, college, and graduate levels. As a high school biology teacher and a biological research scientist I have both a broad and deep understanding of science content and process as well as teaching training. It is one thing to understand, but an entirely different thing to be able to make someone else understand, and I am able to do both. I have six years of experience in biomedical research at Bucknell, Johns Hopkins Medical Institute, and Vanderbilt. Through conducting research, I have developed strong critical thinking skills and the ability for creative problem solving. Biology is not just about learning facts but about learning how to think independently and ask questions. In addition to my research experience, I am a licensed teacher in biology and chemistry and I have taught AP biology and honors biology for the last 3 years Summit High School. As the AP biology teacher, I helped my students achieve the highest pass rate and highest percentage of 4's and 5's in the county. My students also had above average growth on the TN State Biology End of Course exam. I have a Master's of Science degree in biological sciences from Vanderbilt University and a bachelor's of science in cell biology/biochemistry from Bucknell University. I have six years of experience as a college teaching assistant for biology lab classes where I had a proven track record of helping my students succeed.

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

In addition to my love of science, I also have a love of art. i love being creative! My hobbies include crochet, watercolor, and calligraphy. I like learning new things so I'm always trying to teach myself a new hobby.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!